(+263) (242) 704118 | 706260 Callcenter : 08688007422

JSC Structure

The Judicial Service commission is established by section 189 of the Constitution in the following terms:
(1) There is a Judicial Service Commission consisting of:
(a) the Chief Justice;
(b) the Deputy Chief Justice;
(c) the Judge President of the High Court;
(d) one judge nominated by the judges of the Constitutional Court, the Supreme Court, the High Court, the Labour, Court and the Administrative Court;
(e) the Attorney-General;
(f) the chief magistrate;
(g) the chairperson of the Civil Service Commission;
(h) three practising legal practitioners of at least seven years' experience designated by the association, constituted under an Act of Parliament, which represents legal practitioners in Zimbabwe;
(i) one professor or senior lecturer of law designated by an association representing the majority of the teachers of law at Zimbabwean universities or, in the absence of such an association, appointed by the President;
(j) one person who for at least seven years has practised in Zimbabwe as a public accountant or auditor, and who is designated by an association, constituted under an Act of Parliament, which represents such persons; and
(k) one person with at least seven years' experience in human resources management, appointed by the President.
The Commissioners are supported by a Secretariat headed by the Secretary, Mr Walter Chikwana, and deputised by two deputy Secretaries.